The Eleanor Farjeon Award

The CBC is proud to host the annual Eleanor Farjeon Award, which recognises an outstanding contribution to the world of children’s books by an individual or organisation. Librarians, authors, publishers, teachers, reviewers and others who have given exceptional service to our industry are eligible for nomination. CBC members nominate suitable candidates and then vote for the winner. The award ceremony itself is an enjoyable evening, with the winner’s acceptance speech being a particular highlight.

The award was established in memory of Eleanor Farjeon (1881-1965). Though best known for her hymn "Morning Has Broken," later recorded by Cat Stevens, she is also beloved as the author of Elsie Piddock Skips in her Sleep, Martin Pippin in the Apple Orchard, Nursery Rhymes of London Town, and The Little Bookroom, which won the prestigious Hans Christian Andersen Award and the Carnegie Medal. Her poetry still appears in anthologies, with such favourites as "Mrs Malone","Cats" and "It was Long Ago" often included; while "Kings & Queens" written in collaboration with her brother, Herbert Farjeon, is still a best-seller. While Eleanor Farjeon was the first recipient of the Regina Award of the American Catholic Library Association, she did turn down another honour - Dame of the British Empire - explaining that she "did not wish to become different from the milkman." At her death, the Children's Book Circle established the Eleanor Farjeon Award in her honour.


2017 Winner
Keats Community Library

Guest speaker at the Award Ceremony
: Anne Harvey, executor of the Eleanor Farjeon Estate 

2016 Nominees

Benjamin Zephaniah
Grace Nichols
John Agard WINNER
John Mole
Kit Wright
Roger McGough

Guest speaker at the Award Ceremony: Anne Harvey, executor of the Eleanor Farjeon Estate

2015 Winner
Terry Pratchett 
Award accepted on Terry Pratchett’s behalf and keynote speech given by Rob Wilkins 

2014 Nominees

Little Angel Theatre
Pegasus Theatre
Polka Theatre WINNER
The Story Museum
Tall Stories
Unicorn Theatre

Guest speaker at the Award Ceremony: Lyn Gardne

2013 Nominees
David Almond WINNER
John Burningham
David Fickling
Little Angel Theatre
National Literacy Trust

Guest speaker at the Award Ceremony: Nicolette Jones

2012 Nominees
Quentin Blake WINNER

Discover Story Centre

Nicolette Jones

Michael Morpurgo

Tales on Moon Lane

Guest speaker at the Award Ceremony: Shirley Hughes (EF winner in 1984)

Award accepted on Quentin Blake’s behalf by Emma Chichester Clark

2011 Nominees
Philippa Dickinson
Federation of Children’s Book Groups WINNER
Ferelith Hordon
John Newman
Volunteer Reading Help

Guest speaker at the Award Ceremony: Geraldine McCaughrean

2010 Nominees
David Almond
Michael Morpurgo
National Literacy Trust
Seven Stories WINNER
World Book Day

Guest speaker at the Award Ceremony: William Nicholson

2009 Nominees
Moira Arthur WINNER
Ros Bartlett (of FCBG)
Anne Marley (of the Branford Boase Award)
Gill and John McLay
Unicorn Theatre
The Reading Agency

Guest speaker at the Award Ceremony: David Fickling

2008 Nominees
Chris Brown WINNER
Elizabeth Hammill and Mary Briggs (founders of Seven Stories)
Michael Morpurgo
David Wood

Guest speaker at the Award Ceremony: Meg Rosoff

2007 Nominees
Eileen Armstrong (of the School Libraries Association)
Jane Nissen WINNER
The Polka Theatre
Seven Stories
Jo Williams and Marianne Adey (of the Red House Book Awards)

2006 Nominees
Wendy Cooling WINNER
Unicorn Theatre
(others unknown) 

2005 Nominees
Sharon Berry
Malorie Blackman WINNER
Dick Bruna
Kimberley Reynolds

2004 – Jacqueline Wilson, author

2003 – Miriam Hodgson, editor

2002 – Philip Pullman, author

2001 – Amelia Edwards, art director

2000 – Julia Eccleshare, journalist

1999 – Klaus Flugge, publisher and founder (Andersen Press)

1998 – Gina Pollinger

1997 – Michael Rosen, author

1996 – Books for Keeps

1995 – Helen Paiba

1994 – Eileen Colwell

1993 – Susan Belgrave

1992 – Stephanie Nettell

1991 – Patricia Crampton

1990 – Jill Bennett

1989 – Anna Home

1988 – National Library for the Handicapped Child

1987 – Valerie Bierman

1986 – Judith Elkin

1985 – Bob Leeson

1984 – Shirley Hughes

1983 – Jean Russell

1982 – Aidan Chambers and Nancy Chambers

1981 – Margaret Marshall and Virginia Jensen

1980 – Dorothy Butler

1979 – Joy Whitby

1978 – Peter Kennerley

1977 – Elaine Moss

1976 – Joyce Oldmeadow and Court Oldmeadow

1975 – Naomi Lewis

1974 – Leila Berg

1973 – Eleanor Graham

1972 – Janet Hill

1971 – Margaret Meek

1970 – Kaye Webb

1969 – Anne Wood

1968 – Brian Alderson

1967 – Jessica Jenkins

1966 – Margery Fisher



Powered by GroupSpaces · Terms · Privacy Policy · Cookie Use · Create Your Own Group